AIP Breakfast Sausage

P1160161Even before I started on the Autoimmune Protocol, just the thought of giving up eggs for breakfast was overwhelming. When I started eating a Primal diet in 2012 and gave up my beloved pastries, bagels, müslis and other breakfast favorites, eggs were what saved me from morning starvation. There were plenty of tasty ways to make eggs—many of which included bacon!—so I didn’t feel deprived. But now, faced with the idea of no longer eating eggs, I knew I would have to find a reliable substitute again. It would need to be something that tasted good enough for me to eat on most days without getting bored. So I adapted a Paleo breakfast sausage recipe to make it AIP-compliant, and it tastes so good that I’ve already gotten several friends hooked on it! I pair the sausage with various veggies, sweet potato hash, and sometimes just a green smoothie. The sausage tastes especially good with sauerkraut.

I use ground pork for these because to me, it’s the meat that pairs best with apple and sage flavors, but you could use beef, lamb or bison if you prefer (UPDATE: I recently made these with beef and did not like the results! I still think pork is the best, and for an alternative, I’d suggest turkey or chicken, not beef.). I haven’t tried it with turkey or chicken, so I can’t vouch for those particular combinations. If you end up trying them with a different meat, let me know how they turn out!

The apple in these patties burns easily if you turn up the heat too high while frying, so definitely use low heat when you’re making them the first few times. Every stove is different, so find the temperature that works best for you.

I know a lot of people like to batch cook things like meat patties. I don’t. I’m not sure why, but I just don’t like the flavor of reheated meat patties (whether they be breakfast sausage or burgers). But I do make them in batches—I just freeze them raw and pop them onto the skillet when I’m ready to make them in the mornings. It takes them a bit longer to cook from frozen, but I think it results in a better flavor, and it gives me plenty of time to get my kids ready for school while the sausage is cooking in the skillet.

Recipe: AIP Breakfast Sausage

Makes 14 sausage patties

Ingredients:

2 lbs ground pork

1 apple, cored, peeled, and grated

1 heaping TBL sea salt

1 tsp powdered ginger

1/2 tsp mace

1/2 tsp fresh rosemary, finely chopped*

1 tsp fresh thyme, finely chopped*

2 tsp fresh sage, finely chopped*

*If you don’t have fresh herbs, you can use dried herbs, but you should halve the amounts given here.

Method:

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl and mix with a fork or your hands. If you’re lazy like me and you have a stand mixer, you can use the paddle attachment to get an even mix. Form the mixture into patties in the size you desire—I make mine about 2 1/2″ in diameter, which gives me about 14 patties. Fry up any patties you want to eat right away in a small amount of lard, bacon fat or coconut oil and freeze the remainder flat on a tray. Once they’re frozen, put them in a freezer bag for storage in your freezer. When you’re ready to cook them, just pop them onto a preheated skillet and fry them on low heat, covering with a lid at the beginning to facilitate them cooking all the way through.

5 thoughts on “AIP Breakfast Sausage

  1. These sound wonderful, Stephanie!
    A “I never heard of AIP” question, though – why no more eggs? (Probably good for a whole ‘nother post, eh?)
    ~ Kay

    Like

    1. The short answer is that the AIP removes all foods that have the potential to be inflammatory and/or stimulate the immune system inappropriately, and eggs (particularly the whites) are one of those foods. But I’ll probably write a longer answer in another post, as you say!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

