AIP Update: Week 5

I seem to be getting into a groove with cooking and eating AIP meals, but at the same time, I’m also starting to miss some favorites. It didn’t bother me at first to leave eggs or nuts off my plate, but now I’m feeling their absence. The lack of convenience foods has also made itself very noticeable—the jerkies and other shelf-stable meats I used to eat and which my family still eats are no longer options thanks to their nightshade content. So when I find myself needing a snack, I have a protein problem. Since it’s summer, there are plenty of fruits to snack on, and I always try to pair them with something to reduce the glycemic load, but that something tends to be more fat than protein—olives, avocados, or even a spoonful of coconut butter. My project for today is to make some chicken liver paté, fill it into serving-sized containers, and have that available for my snacks.

That all being said, however, I don’t need snacks as much as I used to, as AIP seems to be keeping my blood sugar quite stable. I like having an afternoon snack, but I can get by without it in a pinch. Last week, for example, I had a singing event that I had to leave for at 4pm, and I didn’t get home until around midnight. I made sure to eat a late, satisfying lunch, and I put some Anti-Inflammatory Meatballs (from The Healing Kitchen) in the freezer a few hours before I had to leave. I took the frozen meatballs plus some fruit and a ton of water with me. After the singing event, my choir went to dinner. I wasn’t able to order anything at the beer garden we went to, but I pulled out my meatballs and fruit, and even though it was much less than a normal dinner would be for me, it was enough to stave off hunger and keep up my energy for a long evening of socializing with my choir mates.

I’ve had some setbacks, too, however. My digestion hasn’t been great, and I’ve been wondering if it’s related to the fact that I’m eating a lot of plantains in one form or another. I’ve been journaling my food intake and symptoms, but I haven’t found a clear pattern yet. I’ve also had several days of massive fatigue—waking up after a good, long night’s sleep and feeling like I barely slept at all, and then having that feeling stick around all day. These days have been isolated incidents so far, but they’re really discouraging. I can barely concentrate on my work (or anything else), and my whole body just feels like lead. And the fact that it comes after a good night makes it all the more mysterious. One thing I think it may indicate is that I need to get a thyroid panel done again. Recent blood work revealed that my TSH is creeping up, but I need to have my doctor look at my other thyroid values to see what, if anything, is going on there.

This week, I’ve been trying to get more organized in the kitchen. Batch cooking is really helping me with having enough AIP foods on hand at all times, but since my husband and kids aren’t eating strict AIP (my husband is mostly Paleo, but our kids are not, even though they eat a healthy, whole foods diet), I find myself making multiple meals far too often. Since I’m doing 90% of the cooking, I’m basically burning out on cooking fast, so I’m trying to harmonize our diets more so that I’m making at most one side extra per meal instead of two entire meals in parallel. I’ll report back on how that goes!

Leave a Reply

